Transport Management

Transport Management and Technology, Distribution Management, Freight, Vehicle Routing & Scheduling Software and Load Planning.

Microlise Crowns 2024 Driver Of The Year Winners

Microlise Group, a leading global provider of technology solutions, has officially crowned the winners of its 2024 Driver of the Year (DOTY) awards.

Earlier today at the Microlise Transport Con2ference, the Co-op’s Fraser Macalister was named as this year’s ‘Overall Driver of the Year’, having been selected from a wide and high-quality pool of over 230,000 drivers.

During an exclusive annual awards and black-tie VIP dinner on Monday 18th March, Fraser also won in the Group’s ‘Short Distance’ category, with Andrew Phillips from Tesco and Kevin Bullard from CCF Colchester/Travis Perkins coming a close second and third. The ‘Long Distance’ category was won by David Staley from BSS Group, while David Rideout from Gist raised this year’s ‘Medium Distance’ winner’s trophy.

The ‘Driver Excellence’ Award – for the operator with the highest percentage of drivers in the ‘final 1000’ as identified in the overall Driver of the Year Process – was presented to Maritime Transport, with Menzies Distribution and last year’s winner Yodel coming a close second and third.

Collecting the Award for going the ‘Extra Mile’ and delivering an outstanding level of service was John Lewis Partnership Driver Terence Childs, while EV Cargo’s Marlon Lessey walked away with this year’s ‘Compliance Award’.

Meanwhile, in recognition of new talent, Stobart’s Kamil Krakowiak took the Young Driver Award and, for time served with outstanding loyalty and commitment, the Lifetime Achievement Award went to Hovis’ Driver, Philip Devonport.

This year’s ‘Most Improved’ Award was proudly received by Jade Small from Waitrose and the ‘Driver Hero’ award – for remaining calm in an emergency while courageously helping others – was received by Gordon Adair, from Tennent Caledonian Brewers (C&C GRP).

Commenting on the Driver of the Year Awards ceremony, Paul Jurevicius, Business Development Director, Microlise Group said, “This year’s judging was incredibly difficult, as the standard of candidates was extremely high across all disciplines, with so many worthy winners.  It makes me proud to be part of an industry with so many professional, dedicated drivers, who constantly go the extra mile to help others.”

Fellow judge, Andy Stewart, Editor of Truck & Driver added, “It’s fantastic to see such strong contenders in this year’s competition. Having so many deserving nominees across each of the categories made picking overall winners very difficult. So huge congratulations to the winning drivers, and also to everyone who was nominated – you’re all outstanding drivers and great ambassadors for the industry.”

All 24 finalists received a Porsche track day at Silverstone, and winners were presented with commemorative trophies.

The full shortlist can be seen here.